Thoughts Become Words; Words Become Reality

MLK Thought

I’ve been thinking about this topic for the last couple weeks. It really hit home on MLK Day – the “I have a Dream” speech is truly the embodiment of this practice.

He thought of a world where color wasn’t a stigma, and everyone grew together. He talked about it; not just during the one speech, but again and again, in front of as many people as possible. And his words created a movement that led to a shared reality we all live in today.

When you want to change yourself or your life, this pattern is the key to making life what you want, and also what you don’t want.

Thoughts

When you get a new idea that you really like, you will probably spend a lot of time thinking about it; how great it would be, how to make it real, what you need to prepare for, etc.

It’s new, so at first it’ll just be a crazy unrealistic dream.

In high school, I’d constantly dream about visiting and living in Japan. It was something I wanted to do, though I had no real hope that it would come true. It was just a day dream.

Over time, this little day dream progressed through the stages, and found its way to becoming a reality. I lived in Japan for about a year and a half total, and loved it the entire time.

The reverse is true too; I meet a lot of people with low self-esteem. They spend a lot of time thinking about how they aren’t beautiful people, and are too fat, etc. It seems to me, these people that don’t value themselves enough, are causing themselves to be what they hate about themselves.

Words

As humans, keeping thoughts inside over time becomes impossible.

Think of someone in love, who hasn’t said it yet for the first time. They think about it a lot, and almost say it, but change it at the last second. “Honey, I want to tell you, I… love… bananas. Yeah, I love bananas.”

Eventually the real words escape, and become a shared reality.

The same thing happens with ideas – first you have dreamt about them forever (or not if you have a quick turn-around time). And then you start talking about them.

First with your friends and family, then with your acquaintances, and then with everyone!

If it’s a radical idea, you will probably get told you are crazy or it won’t work. But what do you think? Where do you need to strengthen your plan?

This stage of development is where you beef up your idea, so that it can survive in reality should it make it that far.

Ask anyone who’s left a current job; “how often did you think about it before deciding to act?” and “Did you talk to anyone about your plan.” “Did someone tell you it was a bad idea?”

If I were a betting woman, I’d put money on “a lot,” “yes,” and “yes.”

Reality

You can only think and talk about something for so long before it becomes real.  Because the more you progress in this pattern, the more comfortable you get with the idea. The more possible it becomes.

Once you believe it is possible, and you get through all the input of other people you talk to, you are either going to give up or make it happen.

I thought about running Balanced U for a long time before it had a name.

I knew I wanted to run a business that provided benefit to other people. I wanted something that lived by a set of values that made life better one person at a time, and, in turn, made the world better too.

I think about constantly how I can provide the most value to people that work with me. I talk about it too; so much so, that my friends know just as much about my business as I do.

When BU first came into the idea stage, I wanted to take people camping, and help them get in tune with nature.

It’s a reality now. I’m incorporated. I have business accounts and contracts. And I have clients to work with. Even better, retreats are already planned for Spring 2014, with just the dates pending.

And this cycle just rolls into itself, to keep on growing. I will keep expanding what it is I can do and offer to the world, and it will become a reality.

Moral

If you really want to change something in life, it is absolutely possible. You just have to believe in it enough to stand up to the scrutiny of other people, and then take action.

I remember once being told that, “if someone else notices a small change in you, magnify that by 1000 and you know how far you’ve really come.”

In order for the difference to really be seen by other people, you have to go big. In the meantime, you have to see how the small steps add up on your own.

If you want to lose weight, think about how you will feel (Law Of Attraction), and talk about when you shed a pound or five. Over time, you’ll be where you want to be.

So my question to you all is this: What change do you want to see in your life? In your world? And what are you doing to make it reality?

1483753_225034534344520_450274940_n2

3 thoughts on “Thoughts Become Words; Words Become Reality

  1. I want to inspire people to become the best they can be! And to find their passion and pursue dreams. Achieving that bit by bit with my blog, with the vision that it will turn into something big! 🙂

Leave a Reply

