Asparagus Filo Roll-Ups

DinnerSo, one night me and mom were trying to think of what to do for dinner. I just wanted fish, and couldn’t think of what else would be better. So we went to the grocery store, and found the salmon crab-meat pin-wheels. They were pretty good. As a side dish, I thought that the Asparagus Filo Roll-ups would be really awesome. I also decided to have corn, and tomato and cucumber salad with sesame dressing.

The salmon pin-wheels were pre-made, so all I had to do was cook them for 15 minutes at 325 degrees. The corn was just to be cooked in the microwave and stirred.

To make the salad, i took one big Ugly Tomato ( that is actually the name of it), and cut it into 12 pieces. Then I peeled a cucumber, and cut it into the same size pieces. I think we usually use ranch dressing for this salad, but I saw the sesame and thought it would taste good. I was right ;D

The real point was the Asparagus Roll-ups though. My uncle made these a while back when we had dinner together, and I thought they were really good. Dinner Closeup

You need:

  1. Bouquet of Asparagus
  2. Filo
  3. Mozzarella Cheese
  4. Butter (Melted)*

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. I usually line a cookie sheet with tin-foil to avoid the mess, but that’s optional.

Cut the ends (the non-leafy side) of the asaparagus you will use. To estimate, you need between 3-6 depending on the size of the asparagus. I used small to medium ones, but larger are just as good. You probably don’t want the rolls to be more than the size of a quarter in width.

Take one sheet of Filo (that has been defrosted first, or it will break) and lay it flat. Take some butter (use a brush-baster if you have it) and line the outside of the filo to help it stick. Then take the mozzarella cheese, and spread it out evenly on the Filo. You don’t really need much cheese, just sprinkle it. Then, put the asparagus on one end of the filo. I layed half in the opposite direction of the other so that there are an even taste throughout.

Roll everythin up and put it on the cookie sheet. Then, repeat the process until you’ve made enough or run out of room.

Put them in the oven and back for 15-20 minutes. Mine were completely done in 15. Then, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

