Big East Career Fair in NYC

Times Square Ads for ShowsThis past friday (13th), the “Big East Career Fair” was held at Madison Square Garden in NYC. Fortunately, USF is one of the Big East Schools, and we were allowed to attend. I talked to a lot of companies while I was there, and got a few leads. However, many companies were not openly looking for the skills I can provide.

Because I flew in that morning, I was exhausted. So, after eating lunch with a couple friends, I met my Dad at the hotel at 3:30, and crashed for about 4 hours. That night we walked around Times Square for a couple hours, and then had dinner at a restaurant up the street from the Virgin Megastore (which is closing btw).

Dad at City HallThe next day, Dad and I went down to Ground Zero to see the memorial. Unfortuantely, a lot of it was closed off for construction, so we couldn’t see much. We did, however, find a guy who knew a lot about the event, and had photo-books from 9/11 that were very moving.

PursesAfterword, we walked up to Chinatown to look around. I really enjoyed being here, with all the offers available for bags, watches and jewelry. I got a good deal and bought a couple bags here. This is also a great place to practice barting, by the way. It seemed like everything there was negotiable, so it was fun to see how low you could get stuff.We spent some more time seeing the sights, including the empire state building before heading back uptown to the hotel to get ready for the night.

We bought tickets to see “Reasons to be  Pretty” and had really good seats. This broadway play was histerical, and if you get the chance you should go to see it! It is about what happens after a long-term boyfriend says something about how his girlfriend’s face is just average, and his friend’s girlfriend calls her and lets her know. Regardless of if you are male or female, you can relate to all 4 characters.

I had a good time while I was there, and hope I get the opportunity to do it again.

Leave a Reply

