We Arrived in Montpellier!

We got there on the 28th of June. It’s really a very pretty town. The central square is full of little cafés and shops, and the end is an Opera house. We ate at a place called La Riche the first night, and this was a favorite of mine, so we ate there once more before Mom left.

One of the things I really like about Montpellier is that, despite being a very small town, they have a really good public transportation system. They have two Tram lines, buses everywhere, and I think a subway system. I have a 2 month Pass to use any of the transportation here. I think it’s to encourage the University students to stay here through the summer vacation.

Speaking of which, here’s a bit of Montpellier trivia. It has one of the oldest and most respected Medical schools in France. The main part of the university is housed within a church, that’s survived the Wars of Religion, complete with battle scars.

There is also the most awesome bookstore I’ve ever been in. Its 5 stories, all split level so it feels like a lot more. It has huge selections on any topic, including travel, wine, food, literature, Scifi/Fantasy, etc. And, the architecture is pretty cool too.

The next day we went to look for my apartment and school. We found the apartment pretty easily. It looked like a nice neighborhood and all, though it was right next to the Tram tracks. I couldn’t move in at the time, because I couldn’t get a hold of the landlord. (Later I found out it wasn’t what I expected at all. The floors were dirty, the kitchen disgusting, and the shower moldy. Needless to say, I didn’t stick around, and am now living in a much better place.)

We also went to find the school. This was absolutely terrifying. We found the street the school was supposed to be on, and were looking for the numbers. This was fun, until we found the address of the school belonging to a T-shirt shop! I couldn’t believe it. I thought I’d been had. But, as it turns out, some streets are just numbered independently on both sides of the road. So, as in the case of the school, there are two addresses. And, we found the school shortly afterward.

That night, we also saw the Arc de Montpellier. It’s very much like the Arc de Triumph in Paris, but surprisingly enough, the Montpellier Arc came first. There used to be a gate around the city, and the arc was the only entrance. The walls, however, have been knocked down in more recent years.

That Monday, Mom left (very early), and I started school.

Leave a Reply

