Educational Refunds???

As a part-time job, I’ve been teaching English as a private tutor (actually a really common job for students in Japan). It’s pretty well paying, and it’s near the school. But, I’ve been having a lot of trouble because my student cancels at least half of the four times we are supposed to meet each month. And, this month, she canceled for three of the times.

My friend and I were talking about this, and it’s not really fair to the person teaching to clear a time especially to teach, and then find out last minute that they’re not actually teaching that day. Though, it would be really cool if, every time we skipped a class at school, we got a refund.

But really, I work at a private company and the person choose to study with me. The student should commit to that schedule. Of course, if the teacher couldn’t make it, no payment should be made. But otherwise, the teacher still plans to take time out and teach, so they still deserve to be paid if the student cancels. (I feel this way as a student as well – experience comes from Aikido.)

Anyway, that’s all for today.

Leave a Reply

