Matters of the Heart…

Often, I’m asked if I’m lonely without my family, or if I’ll be lonely when I go to France or back home. So, of course, I’ve had plenty of opportunities to think of the matter.

First, of course I miss my family when I’m away. But I don’t feel home-sick so much. My family is my family, and I know they are always there for me. So I don’t feel that being away makes me lonely. Same for my friends; I (will) miss being able to spend time with them, but they are my friends, and we should be able to stay friends despite distance.

Maybe I just feel that the people who are close to me, should support the dreams and goals I have. And that, even though it’s better to be together, such an issue shouldn’t hold our relationships back. Nor should we hold our friends/family back just because we want to be together. Things will work out in the end.

But, on the same topic, a friend who asked me this, said that he wished he had a strong heart. He didn’t want farewells to bother him.

But I think he should have said “cold heart” and not strong. I think that it takes more strength to care for people, and to foster deep feelings for people, than it does to not feel. Feeling is so much more difficult than not feeling at all.

It’s hard to remember sometimes, but definitely true.

Anyway, I just wanted to say that.

Leave a Reply

