Electronic Dictionaries

So, I have the Ex-word SW9400. It’ s pretty close to the newest dictionary (will hereby be known as jisho if it’s electronic) you can get (or at least it was when I bought it in august). And, it’s the handiest tool I could buy for living in a foreign country.

It’s really great because I don’t have to use a paper dictionary (you all know I love books, but even I don’t want to carry dictionaries with me everywhere). You can type in kanji, kana, or english.

My problem is that my jisho is only japanese an english. I intended to add other languages to it, but I didn’t specify when I asked that I wanted the other languages to also be connected to english. So, according to the electronics store in Nanba, they don’t make cards for the other languages into english!! They only way you can get them is to buy a dictionary that already has it!

And since I’m going to study in France for 6 weeks, I’d really like french-english dictionaries! Going from french to japanese to english (and reverse order) is waaaay to めんどくさい <troublesome>! I’m still researching the situation, but it looks like all I can do is to buy a new jisho with what I want on it. I think it would be worth it to do so, but I’d rather just be able to add the dictionary to the jisho I already have!

I’ll update you all on this situation when it progresses.

Leave a Reply

