Easter Sunday!

So, in Japan, Easter is almost unheard of. But, that’s ok.  Easter is a lot about spending time with family. I spent today with my Host family, the Nakatani’s, from last semester. I really like spending time with them, and I really feel like they are part of my family.

Today was a charity concert for the Kansai Guide Dog Association (moudouken kyokai). The first half was a performance by an elementary school choir. They sang a decent number of songs, did a couple dance numbers, and taught the audience to play a few hand games. They were so good! You could really tell they put a lot of effort into their performance. I’m really glad I had a chance to see them.

The second half was a Harp musician. After a few numbers, she was accompanied by a sax player! They were both pretty awesome, but the music was very soothing..  I wish they played a couple more u-beat songs.

Of course, like every other event i’ve gone to for the guide dogs, I had a lot of fun.

After the concert, we went into a small cake shop. I’m a sucker for cakes… my choice was a simple almond cake. I really would like to learn how to make it. Mary had a sweet potato based tart, and Koji had a giant cream-puff. They were all delicious.

On the way home, we went to nishiki, the food market in kyoto. And we also got Kumiko and Koji to take purikura (Print Club photos) with us! I’m glad we tried. They’re great pictures!

Then there was the race home for the Graduation Party! But I’m tired, so I’ll write about that tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

